Sara’s Introduction

Hello fellow flora enthusiasts! I moved to Fairbanks last August from Georgia and have been fascinated with the plant and animal life in the interior since moving here. I work as a freelance illustrator, mostly creating educational work for SciComm, museums, and children’s books on a wide variety of topics including wildlife, archaeology, and astronomy.

I love the large variety of moss and lichens here in a beautiful rainbow of colors. I also love wildflowers and have been very excited to see them popping up all over the place in the last week. The high prevalence of birch has also been fascinating to me, its so visually striking, especially in the fall! Additionally, I keep a small indoor garden of herbs and greens in the winter. I expand this to a larger container garden of mostly veggies and berries during the summer. I’m hoping to expand my knowledge of plant life here in Alaska to enrich my time spent outdoors (I do a lot of hiking and camping) and allow me to better understand the anatomy of plants when I draw them. I look forward to learning with you all!

For reference I’ve got the Easy-Marco lens for my smartphone as I thought it would be the easiest one to have on me while hiking. I did some tests with it on some objects at home and it does remarkably well. I’m planning to prop it up between two books for marco shots during dissection.

5 Comments

1. Welcome Sara,