Introduction to Nikira Lane

Hello! My name is Nikira Lane and I am from Anchorage, Alaska. As a born and raised Alaskan, I spent a lot of time foraging, hunting, fishing, and everything outdoors growing up. Being surrounded by Alaskan culture and traveling to many rural areas with my dad and brothers has helped me to feel a strong connection to living a subsistence and independent lifestyle regarding food. Some of my favorite locations have been Mekoryuk, Kodiak, and Adak to experience different cultures and see beautiful parts of Alaska. Each of these places has incredible subsistence food opportunities and has taught me a lot about myself and the state in which I have lived my entire life.

I am currently a student at Purdue University, about to enter my senior year, studying Agricultural Engineering (Machine Systems Discipline) with minors in Soil Science and Crop Science. After graduating, I hope to spend some time on missions’ trips teaching sustainable ag practices and eventually plan to come home to Alaska where I can help promote food security for my family, friends, and fellow Alaskans who know all too well the dangers of living in a food desert.