Introduction- Treena Ivie

Hi Everyone,

My name is Treena Ivie. BIOL F190 is my second botanical course. I stumbled across the Introduction to Ethnobotany course as my first course back to school in 10 years. It seemed like a wonderful fit, as I have spent the last 6 years doing my own research on the flora around my home in Wasilla, Alaska. It also made sense to me to learn more about this field, as a Sugpiaq, aka Alutiiq, from Kodiak Island. After receiving some additional information from staff in the Ethnobotany program, I decided to go ahead and enroll into it. These courses will eventually fulfill undergraduate requirements for the Occupational Therapy Graduate program I am planning on taking in the future. I occasionally forage but mostly appreciate nature’s plants. As I learn more of the ins and outs of the plants, I plan to start harvesting them with my kids. I am not good at gardening, so most of our property is wildly nature filled because I am not terribly good at landscape either. I am an artist that uses watercolor, leather, beads and fiber to create with. My favorite plant is the Silverberry Bush, I have included in a photo below- on the right hand side. On the left side of the photo is my microscope set up. I look forward to this course and learning all that is offered.

Microscope & Silverberry bush.

One comment

1. Welcome Treena,