Introduction

Hi everyone I’m Aihs. Ive been in Fairbanks for about a decade or more on and off due to moving back and forth and my family lifestyle. I have been foraging for a couple of years, super involved in the sustainable community and gardening wherever I can. It’s my dream to have my own homestead. I really value sustainable practices and the wealth of knowledge that you can gain from the plants around you. I am also very interested in Ethnomycology and I love to forage fungi. I have a lot of favorite plants, one of my most recent faves is Rhodiola rosea. The extract that I’ve made and experienced from the root is truly wonderful and empowering. My herbal journey is very led by my yearning for wellness and communal restoration. I try to use plant medicine often, I deeply believe that becoming a botanist is the right path for me so i’m super grateful for this course and everything that comes with it. I don’t think I would enjoy hunting although I’ve never did have the opportunity to experience a homestead and I couldn’t bring myself to the slaughtering part. I respect hunting as an indigenous and sustenance practice however. Happy Indigenous Peoples Day!

The photo i’ve included is my little one, gardening, or rather building “dirt castles”.

One comment

1. Welcome Aihs,