Chantelle Carter Introduction

Hello everyone! I was a classroom teacher before taking a position with the Ohio Department of Education. I taught Biology for a few years about 24 years ago…so as I watched the videos for this week, I had a sense of familiarity. I taught nomenclature, using dichotomous keys and my students had to complete a leaf collection. Our school had a land lab for outdoor learning. They also had to learn the Latin names for our most common trees. This was in Ohio where I suspect there was a greater diversity in the types of trees than here in Alaska. I also taught biomes in Environmental Science. Growing up in a temperate deciduous forest, I am so very happy to be exploring the boreal forest on the peninsula where we have purchased property.