Class Introduction

My name is Liz and I have lived in Alaska my entire life. I graduated from UAF in 2013 with my accounting degree and have been working professionally for 10 years. I have a husband and 2 young kids. I am currently 3/4 of the way through to becoming a CPA which is why I am enrolled in this 2 credit class (to meet credit requirements for lisencing).

Not only do the 2 credits meet my final credit requirements, I also have a love of gardening. My family has a high tunnel and large garden in Nenana that utilize each year. I also have a small garden and greenhouse at my home in Fairbanks. The fruits and vegetables that we plant nourish our entire and extended family for the entire year. Last year, I ended up growing over 120 pounds of jalapenos (these were jarred, frozen and dehydrated for use during the winter months)!

Each spring, I am in charge of planting our starts. This year, I planted well over 500 seed starts (both flower and vegetables) which we used to plant our garden, high tunnel, and distribute to family and friends. I also like to dabble in exotic plants. One I am particularly proud of is my successful growing of a Hawaiian pineapple plant which I grew from the crown of a Hawaiian pineapple that I brought back to Alaska! Its a great conversation starter and its been fun to watch it grow! I have also been successful at growing cacti and a lemon tree from seed. I find a lot of therapy out of growing plants. I love to just sit in my greenhouse, get grounded and breathe in the fresh air. Im really interest in learning about the medicinal uses of flora in Alaska. I have added a photo of my family’s high tunnel thats located in Nenana. We planted brussel sprouts, pumpkins, tomato, green beans, jalapeno, bell pepper and cucumber this year.

One comment

1. Welcome Liz,