Introduction Terry Morache

Hi, I’m Terry I’m taking this class because I love Alaskan Flora. I feel it should be a required class for anyone doing a BS Arctic Ecology focus. Off my soapbox. I grew up in New England in the woods ponds swamps you name it. I grew up admiring Rachel Carson and still do. We camped, and hiked all over the east coast. When I was in the service I was stationed in the Pacific Northwest on Coast Guard ships that patrolled from Antarctica to Alaska and looked over the scientists’ shoulders. I moved to Alaska in 08 to Mat Su Wasilla and Willow till Sockeye then I moved to the Fairbanks area. Attended school at Bay community college in one part of UP and then Lake Superior State on Lake Superior I have been home for just over a year. When I moved here from Texas I went to Every National Park on the way. My major is Ecological and Evolutionary Biology with Minors in Alaska Native Studies and Alaska Climate Change Biology. I have 3 favorite Alaskan flowers. Fireweed not only for its beauty but its versatility as a food. Swamp Iris of Mat-Su Valley Palmer Hayflats. Finally, the Arctic Rose has many uses as food, medicine, and perfume. I admire it because it is resilient.

One comment

1. Welcome Terry,